My Life as a PR Dominatrix

When I first started in the PR business I was so naive.  I thought that everyone would be as excited and gung-ho about PR as I was.  And, actually, a lot of my clients were.  But I mistakenly thought that excitement would translate into them getting me the items I needed to do their PR in a timely manner.  Oh Boy, was I ever wrong! I eventually realized something had to change–so I changed my attitude.

Thus I began my life as a PR Dominatrix, ruthlessly demanding time and attention and agreed-upon materials when I wanted them. I cajoled, I threatened, and  I even offered a few of my clients the option of paying more for the privilege.   Although I didn’t wear a leather outfit, use a whip or insist on being addressed as “Mistress”, I was bent on having my way (all for their own good, of course).

Until I hit upon this method, I was frequently frustrated by missed PR opportunities and deadlines, as well as, tired of working on weekends to make up for others’ tardiness.  Once I began employing my Dominatrix mind-set, I found that clients responded more quickly and were happier. And we had better PR results to boot (pun intended).

I fully admit that I’ve never knowingly met a professional Dominatrix, but I suspect that we could all learn a thing or two from them about delegation, motivation and deadlines.  While this attitude is not appropriate for every PR professional, or even every client, if you absolutely need to get things done, you might consider trying it.

2 Comments

Filed under PR

2 responses to “My Life as a PR Dominatrix

  1. A take charge PR person shows a client that you know what you’re doing. Confidence, and the art of teaching it, is the best attitude to have when you have to get something done. Nice post. Interesting metaphor. Just don’t hurt me.

  2. Hi Jill,

    I’ve been enjoying your posts. I hope all is well.

Leave a Reply

